African Union names commission on conflict in Ethiopia


South African President Cyril Ramaphosa, the current leader of the African Union has appointed three members to open talks with the Ethiopian federal government and the Tigrean self-government.

The nominees are Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf, former Liberian president, Joaquim Chissano, former Mozambican president and Kgalema Motlanthe, former South African president.

The first task of the commission is to involve all parties to the conflict and to create an inclusive national dialogue environment to resolve all issues that have led to the conflict and to restore peace and stability in Ethiopia.

The move comes after Ethiopian President Sahle-Work Zewde visited South Africa, where she held talks with President Cyril Ramaphosa.