The International Community calls on Somali leaders to reach an agreement



A statement from members of the international community supporting Somalia has called on the Somali leaders to reach an agreement and steer the country forward.

The International Friends said they have also welcomed the arrival of the participants of the Summit of the Federal Government of Somalia and the Leaders of the Federal Member States, which will be held in the protected area of ​​Aden Adde International Airport in Mogadishu which was announced to begin on 22 March 2021.

“We urge them to convene as soon as possible and show leadership in line with the recommendations of the Baidoa Technical Committee on 16 February 2021 to implement the electoral process of 17 September 2020 and move on to the elections without delay” Reads the statement.

The international partners also encouraged consultations with other stakeholders such as political parties, civil society organizations, and key legislators to hear their views and ensure that the electoral process receives broad support.

“There is no alternative to the September 17 election process with a fast-paced schedule to hold peaceful, inclusive, free, fair and credible elections. International partners will not support an unfinished or parallel process, or efforts leading to an extension of existing terms.

We call on the Somali leadership to seize this opportunity to reach a peaceful political solution that will lead to elections, and to make the necessary compromises in the interest of the Somali nation and its people” The statement further reads.

The International partners said they will continue their efforts to bring Somali stakeholders closer together.

“We reiterate our commitment to support the implementation of the electoral process with the same language and understand the details”

* African Union Mission in Somalia (AMISOM), Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Djibouti, Egypt, Ethiopia, European Union (EU), Finland, France, Germany, Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD), Ireland, Italy, Arab League (LAS) ), Holland, Norway, Qatar, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States, United Nations.